Equals by Brigham Vaughn

22710266

Equals (Equals #1)

Genre: M/M, Contemporary, Romance

Synopsis:

Too busy to date while he worked to put himself through school, Russell Bishop’s dedication finally pays off; he has a great job with Vantage Marketing. Stephen Parker, CFO of the marketing firm, has resigned himself to a life without a partner. For six months, they wanted each other but it isn’t until Russ slips on spilled coffee, and Stephen rushes to his rescue that they discover their attraction is mutual. However, the twenty year age gap between them proves difficult when they begin dating. Fiercely independent, Russ isn’t sure he’s ready for long-term commitment. Scarred from a previous relationship, Stephen is afraid history is repeating itself. Is there any way for them to meet in the middle and become equals?

Excerpt:

As if he’d heard Stephen’s thoughts, Russ straightened and turned his head before hopping in a half circle to face him, smiling widely. “Hey. Didn’t hear you come in.”

Stephen realized he still hovered in the doorway and he stepped forward and let it shut behind him. “Hi. How was your day?”

Russ leaned back against the counter, all of his weight on his uninjured foot. “Once I got over being pissed at you, not bad.”

Stephen gave him a wry smile. “I am sorry; I didn’t mean to come off heavy-handed.” He set the bags in his hands on the counter and walked closer to Russ. “I was worried about you.”

Russ laid a hand on Stephen’s chest, fingers curling around his tie. “I’m a big boy; I can take care of myself.”

Stephen nodded, stepping closer so his feet were between Russ’ but careful not to bump the injured ankle. “I am sure you can,” Stephen said calmly. “But I feel at least somewhat responsible for your accident.”

“I don’t blame you for it.”

“I know you don’t.” For a few heartbeats, they looked at each other until Russ tugged at the tie. Stephen didn’t lean in, but it didn’t take a genius to decipher his intention. He looked up at Stephen and spoke quietly. “It feels strange to be wearing your clothes and sleeping in your bed when we haven’t so much as kissed.”

Stephen’s voice was husky. “Was that a hint?”

“No.” Russ wet his lips. “But this is a demand: I want you to kiss me.”

“I can do that.”

goodreads-badge-add-plus-fad3b68d35050280ea55d50f17c654b5

My Review: 4.5/5 Stars

This is the first book I have read by Brigham and I loved it.

Russell Bishop (Russ) had it rough growing up. His mother left after giving birth to his younger sister. His father not knowing what to do with a infant girl sent Addie to live with his sister. Working hard to pick up the slack when it was just the two of them, Russ worked for everything he got. So when Stephen comes into the picture, Russ doesn’t know what to do about Stephen’s kindness.

Stephen Parker never thought he would find love again, but after the incident with Russ, he is happy that they got to spend time together. Even if he is the one that injured Russ. Stephen is the take charge kind of guy, and he has met his match with Russ, who doesn’t take to kindly to being dictated to out side of the bedroom. Can these two men over come their issues or are they doomed from the start?

I loved Stephen and I also felt sad for him. He had some insecurities when it came to his relationship with Russ, but he worked on them so that they could be together. I liked Russ, but not as much as I liked Stephen and I’m not that big on reading books with older men. I felt sometimes Russ was acting ungrateful when Stephen did things for him. I know a man has his pride and everything, but dang. I wanted to tell him to get over himself and take the help as it was needed.

The story was well written and I can’t wait to read Partners, though I skipped ahead and read Family. The third book in the Equals series, but shush don’t tell anyone.

Buy Links:
Free at time of post
ARe • Amazon • B&N • iTunes • Kobo • Smashwords

Author’s Bio:

51jRDP1SEBL__UX250_

Brigham Vaughn has always been a voracious reader with her own stories to tell. After many years of abandoned plots, something finally clicked. Now she’s eating, sleeping, and breathing writing and is excited to have finally figured out what she wants to be when she grows up. In the little time that isn’t spent writing or reading, she loves cooking, yoga, photography, and remodeling her ninety-year-old home. Brigham lives in Michigan with her four cats and an amazing husband who has always been her biggest champion.

Blog • Twitter • Facebook • Goodreads • Amazon

Leave a Reply

