Blog Tour: Monarch by Belle Whittington

Monarch - Tour Banner

Monarch - Book Cover

Monarch (Cicada Trilogy #3)

Genre: Soft Sci-Fi, Paranormal, Romance, Action/Adventure, Aliens

Synopsis:

Blair Reynolds was born to rule. Worlds, that is. Destined to reign over an ancient intergalactic race, it may seem her fate is written in the stars. But she’s willing to risk it all for another chance to spend forever with her true love – even if it means traveling through time and space to the other side of the universe.

As far as Ash is concerned, Blair’s happily-ever-after involves him, not the mere mortal with whom she seems so infatuated. She was bequeathed to him by her fatherand Ash will go to any lengths to keep Blair and her true love apart.

And Ash isn’t the only one.

Deep in the jungles of Brazil, where tribal drums call to Blair and her true love, other forces carry out dangerous secret plans.

However, Blair has secrets of her own … secrets so lethal she dares not even remember them.

Secrets so painful they could ruin everything.

Because some secrets kill.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-fad3b68d35050280ea55d50f17c654b5

Buy Links:
B&NB&N PBAmazon • Amazon PB
Amazon CAAmazon UKSmashwords

Monarch - Teaser 2

Excerpt:

“What’s going on in that head of yours?” Everett asked as he stroked my forearm with his fingertips.

I glanced at him and parted my lips to speak but burst into flames instead. This was the third time it had happened since we’d gotten to the house to find it broken into and pillaged.

Blue flames licked around my arms and shoulders, and I tossed my head back, my arms out, and felt my feet lift from the kitchen floor. Everything around me glowed in a blue haze, and I turned to glimpse myself in the dining room mirror.

My hair stretched out in tendrils, as if it had a life of its own, curling, twisting, and reaching among the brilliant blue flames that leapt from my skin and into the air around me.

Immortality, it seemed, replaced mortality in stages. I hoped it would be the last stage of spontaneous combustion. Because each time it happened, my clothing ignited and left me suspended in flames, mid-air, and naked.

Of course, all this activity had delayed us from going to the airport and heading to South America to pursue Mom’s kidnappers. Andrew had called the airlines several times to reschedule our flights until he’d finally given up and decided to allow me time to get through my episodes of fire and levitation.

Natalie gasped as she rushed through the kitchen door and saw me hovering several feet above the tile floor, naked, and trying to cover myself as best as I could with my arms. “Get out of here!” she shouted at David, Andrew, and Everett. “Give her some privacy!”

Monarch - Book Wrap

Character Bio:

Blair Reynolds (Main Character)
She thought she’d grow up to be a large animal veterinarian like her grandfather. But when she turned seventeen, things began to change … not only to her, but to those around her. Like a cicada leaving its shell, Blair changes from human to become her self-ordained destiny: the Monarch of an ancient intergalactic race.

Monarch - Character Bio Blair

Andrew Reynolds
Blair’s older telepathic brother who also has a sixth sense of knowing things … some call it ESP. Andrew is an alien-human hybrid – the byproduct of alien experiments done on his mother and grandmother. He’s a good guy, but things never seem to go his way.

Everett Forster
Love interest and über nerd. His childhood dream was to become an entomologist one day, because of his love of bugs and insects. However, those plans never come to fruition. Like Blair, his fate lies elsewhere. Joining the Resistance took him far from the plans of his boyhood and into the realization that he was meant for grander things … things beyond the human world.

Ash
Charming and sexy, flirtatious Ash will stop at nothing to make Blair his own. There’s not a human bone in his body, but that won’t stop him from having his share of girls on the side. They don’t matter, though. All that matters to him is that he fulfills the promise he’d made to Blair’s father to keep her safe and alive. She’s the only female the warrior general had resolved to marry, and he doesn’t go back on his promises. Even though she’d devised a way to separate from him and become an alien-human hybrid, it didn’t matter. As far as he’s concerned, they will still have Royal Children together and lead their people in a new life on this strange planet.

Monarch - Character Bio Ash

David Hargrave
Handsome and brawny, he was the captain of the high school football team and newlywed husband of Natalie, his high school sweetheart. David is Andrew’s best friend, and thinks of Blair as his own kid sister. He’s loyal and true, even though his friend is not quite normal— in human terms, anyway.

Natalie Hargrave
She loves her new husband and hopes to raise children with him while teaching kindergarten at the local elementary school. Natalie was Homecoming Queen and a cheerleader in high school. Even though Blair wouldn’t have been her first choice of friend in school, she becomes her best friend and fashion stylist. And that all makes for more sadness considering what happens to her.

Mom
A secret member of The Resistance, Mom is a closet badass. While raising her children, she did her best to provide them with a stable home and a normal mother who baked the best cupcakes this side of the Pecos River. A young widow, she’d started her own bakery, which secretly funded some of the activities of The Resistance. Who could blame her? Hers and her husband’s honeymoon had been ruined when she’d been abducted by aliens.

Mr. Forster
Everett’s father is a professor of history at a nearby university. Mom is his love interest, and, like her, he was widowed at a young age and raised his son alone. Mr. Forster knows all about this alien abduction business, because his wife had also been abducted by aliens the year before Everett was born.

Grandpa
A wise old cowboy and local favorite, Grandpa is known by all the townsfolk for being an outstanding large animal veterinarian. When his son-in-law and grandson were murdered, he took the place of father figure for his remaining grandchildren.

Orion
They’d once called him The Cicada. Now, he’s known for whom he really is—one of the alien-hybrid sons of Ash’s fling with a jungle girl who died during their birth. Along with his brother, he’d been given to his alien mother as a gift in hopes that it would heal a broken union. Orion would do anything for his adopted mother … no matter the consequence.

Nyx
Orion’s brother, Nyx is more like Ash. Though he loves his adopted mother, Nyx favors his father’s affections. However, to prove his loyalty to his mother … he creates a secret organization meant to keep her safe. It’s called The Resistance.

Xi
Extremely loyal, he’s the alien body guard of the Queen. He’s massive, covered in tattoos that note his rank, battles won, and his loyalty to the Royal House. Xi is the commander of the Royal Guard – an elite group of alien soldiers who serve only their Queen.

Max
One of only two females, she’s second in command in The Royal Guard. She’s a vicious warrior who also wears tattoos of won conquests and loyalty to The Royal House. Though she’s cunning with her blade and prefers to wear the blood of her vanquished foes as war paint, Max has a soft side. Orion is her love interest, and she plans to pair with him.

Rake
As medic in The Royal Guard, Rake is able to provide a healing touch to those who are wounded, including the Queen. Rake is one of the only two females in The Royal Guard and stands almost as tall as the men. Nyx is her love interest.

Monarch - Teaser 1

Guest Post:

What to look forward to in 2015

In 2015, I’ll be finishing my top-secret WIP. I’m really excited about this book. It’s like nothing I’ve ever written … sort of. My readers are sure to love it. And since the subject is so different than my usual fare, I believe it will appeal to a lot of new readers, and I’m really looking forward to meeting them!

This book is set in the same universe as my current books, same time-frame, and same region of Texas. But it’s about a totally different kind of group of characters. And the challenges they’ll face will be exciting and, I believe, fresh for my readers. I love writing things that are new.

So, here’s to new books, new readers, and new worlds!

How about a teaser?

Bella

Author Interview:

Nessa: Why did you become a writer? Belle: To me, the most important part of writing is in the daydreaming. I’m an avid daydreamer. It’s my favorite pastime. I have been daydreaming stories for as long as I can remember. My first recollection of wanting to be a writer was when I was in the second grade, and my teacher, Mrs. Rambin, would have us lay our heads on our desks after lunch while she read us stories full of magic and imagination.
Most of my early writings were stories with a twist of science fiction…even my earliest poems. I remember sitting on the dam of a neighbor’s pond around the time I was eleven, writing a story about space travel. In fact, I still have that little handwritten story. It’s still bound in the same yellow notebook that I put it in way back in the sixth grade.
Writing is part of being. It’s part of me just like breathing and sleeping and eating.

N: Do you have any siblings?
B: Yes. I have two brothers and one sister.

N: If you could go anywhere in the world where would you go? Why?
B: I’ve always wanted to visit Great Britain. It’s where my ancestors came from, and I would like to explore all the places they may have lived.

N: If the zombie apocalypse happened tomorrow would you be ready?
B: Probably not! LOL!

N: What is your favorite genre to read?
B: Science Fiction, Paranormal, and British Literature. Depending on my mood. Oh! I also like history books, too! I know … that was more than one genre.

N: If you could meet anyone past, present or future, who would it be?
B: Past: Henry VIII
Present: Lek Walesa
Future: My prodigy

N: Where do you see yourself three years from now?
B: A Best-Selling Author

N: Paper or plastic?
B: Paper

N: Home cooking or take out?
B: Home Cooking

N: What is the one thing your readers don’t know about you, but you wished to share?
B: I really do believe in aliens!

Monarch - Editors Photo

Monarch - Giveaway Image

Author Bio:

5046101

Belle was raised in deep East Texas. She now resides somewhere north of Houston, Texas in a small inconsequential town with the smallest, most inconsequential name. There, in the shady reaches of the pines, elms, and oaks, she daydreams adventures and secrets she weaves throughout her stories. She’s the author of CICADA, FIREFLY, and MONARCH, a Young Adult/New Adult cross-over trilogy with excellent reviews. She studied literature and history at University of Houston where Beowulf, Shakespeare’s works, and the history of the Vikings were her favorite topics. Belle is positive her readers and fans are the best in the universe.

WebsiteBlogFacebookTwitterGoogle+
PinterestTumblrAmazonGoodreadsWattpadAuthorgraph

Hosted By:

buttonmfh2

3 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Monarch by Belle Whittington

Leave a Reply

