Cover Reveal: Freeing His Mercenary by Vanessa Sims

Freeing His Mercenary AMAZON LARGE

Freeing His Mercenary (Mercenary In Love #3)

Publication Date: April 15th, 2015

Genre: M/M, Contemporary Romance

Synopsis:

What do you do when the man you love doesn’t remember you?

Christian Storm used to be a playboy, until his best friend Rick finally admits his feelings for him.

Christian finally gets his act together, and starts a relationship with Rick. Only to have the man they are looking for, for work, to take Rick.

When Rick is found he is broken and battered. When Rick wakes in the hospital, he doesn’t know he or anyone else is.

Now Christian has to find the man responsible for Rick’s abduction and attack before he strikes again. With his mind preoccupied with finding Logan, will Christian be able to convince Rick that they are deeply in love with each other.

Freeing His Mercenary is the continuation of Taming His Mercenary.

Author Note: Synopsis due to change.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-fad3b68d35050280ea55d50f17c654b5

Excerpt: Unedited

Fuck they found him and it was all Christian’s fault. If he hadn’t come, Elliot would have been long gone.

“Go to your room,” Christian ordered.

“What the hell? I know how to take care of myself.” Maybe not against trained killers, but it was the principle of everything.

As he glared at Christian, something hit the wall behind his head. There was a slight sting making Elliot touch his ear, only to have the tips of his fingers come back bloody. One second he was staring at the blood on his fingers, the next his body was being pulled to the floor. The weight of Christian’s much heavier frame covering his as their assailant shot off a few more rounds.

“I’m going to distract him. I want you to crawl to the other side of the room, closer to the kitchen.” Christian whispered into his ear, and if his treacherous body didn’t pick that moment to go all soft and buttery, as if Christian were whispering sweet nothings into his ear and not trying to save his life. What the hell is wrong with me?

Putting that question to the back of his mind, Elliot started to low crawl to the other side of the room as Christian lifted up to return fire. As he settled behind the loveseat, he realized he was trapped because someone had just broken in through the kitchen door.

“Oh, fuck.”

Not giving himself time to think, Elliot stood up and charged the man that came through the door, tackling him to the floor. Sitting on the man’s chest, he delivered a right hook to the man’s jaw, knocking him unconscious. Scrambling off the man, Elliot quickly grabbed the discarded gun. Elliot wanted to take a break to give his heart time to slow down before it beat out of his chest. Before he could put that plan to action, he swung around with the gun pointed at the man that just entered the kitchen.

“Stop right fucking there!”

“Whoa. There’s no need to be hostile.”

“What the fuck? You came here to kill me and I’m the one that’s hostile?”

“Hardly. Christian come get your guard dog.”

At Christian’s name, Elliot realized that it had gone quiet in the living room. What the hell is going on? Was Christian okay? Why the hell did that matter?

“Killian when did you get here?” Elliot nearly jumped out of his skin at Christian’s words directly behind him.

“Not too long ago. There were two others out there waiting to get in. I took care of them.” Killian stated before looking pointedly at Elliot. “Are you going to tell him to put the gun down or am I going to have to take it from him?”

“Elliot, he’s good.” Christian stated calmly.

He wasn’t so sure about that, no matter how velvety soft Christian’s voice sounded in his ear. They could be waiting for him to let his guard down so they could kidnap him to get the information on Logan they needed. He could probably take one of them, but not both. Before he could tell Christian how not good he was, the gun was taken from him. He looked at Killian with shock and awe.

“I really don’ like guns pointed at me.” He said to Elliot, then looked over his shoulder. “I take it he had nothing to do with Rick’s condition?”

***

Christian raised an eyebrow at Killian. “No. Logan has his daughter and from the very colorful messages I read on Elliot’s phone, he wants to see him. We were having a discussion on how to find Logan when we were attacked.”

“I already told you what I wanted and don’t talk about me as if I’m not standing right here.” Elliot huffed beside him.

Killian replied to Christian as if Elliot hadn’t just spoken. “So what are we going to do about him?” Killian paused for a moment gaging Christian for a moment before continuing. “The reason I came was because Chase has been trying to call you, but he keeps getting your voicemail. They’re going to be releasing Rick in a day or two.”

Trying not to show any emotion, Christian took his phone out of his pocket, he realized it was off, probably dead. “Fuck, okay.” Taking a deep breath, he got his thoughts in order. “Elliot is coming to the house with us. Logan wants him dead and he’s no good to us with a bullet in his head.”

“What the hell did I just say and I’m not going anywhere with you.” Elliot said in a huff.

Elliot stood there with a hand on his hip glaring at Christian. He tried to contain his laughter at the picture he made. “You said, ‘I already told you what I wanted and don’t talk about me as if I’m not standing right here.’ You’re going to come with us if you want to live long enough to get your daughter back.” Turning to Killian he said, “I’ll take him to the house, then go to the hospital.”

“All right. I’ll meet you there and stay with him until Chase and Cameron get home.”

“Oh my fucking God.” Elliot yelled before storming out of the kitchen.

“I wondered how long it would take for him to leave,” Killian said with a chuckle. “So, he’s legit?”

“Yeah, he was supposed to tell Logan where Rick was the night he was taken and didn’t. So I figure we help him, he helps us.”

“Yeah, I can see that. I’ll see you at the house.”

Christian nodded his head, then followed the sound of Elliot’s voice as he cursed him to hell. Finding him in his bedroom, zipping up a suitcase, Christian leaned against the door frame.

“If you wanted me to leave the fucking room you could have just asked. Then I would have kindly told you to go to your own fucking house so that you could talk to your friend.”

“I don’t know what you’re talking about.” He didn’t know why he was trying to get under Elliot’s skin. Maybe it gave him something to do besides obsessing about Rick, but he knew his mind wouldn’t stay away for long.

Author Bio:

I live in Texas but originally I am from Trenton, NJ. When I graduated from high school, I joined the military. Yay me. I did three years with one tour to Iraq. I am happily married because seriously would put that they are unhappy. I have three kids. No pets, they scare me. I am currently a stay at home mom and I love to read! A lot.

Website • Twitter • Facebook • Amazon • Goodreads • Instagram

Leave a Reply

